I think it might be safe to say I love my job…but I might wait a week before I make that statement official. The girls and I have clicked really well all things considering. I mean, take 2 guys, and 7 girls, and expect them all to get along without any problems on the 3rd time of ever meeting, and yea, I’d say you have a really good working crew.
The bosses put me on espresso duty. Can you say love???!!!! Ahhh, I can’t believe how much I’ve missed using one of those machines. That was my favorite part of working at the bookstore way back in the day. It was so easy to switch back into the mode of mixing drinks. And oh my goodness the smells–that wonderfully, rich, aroma–I was in heaven. At one point, I made 2 hazelnut cafe lattes and maybe its just the type of bean, but that was one of the best scents–it made me want to make myself one, and I’m not a huge fan of coffee unless it is iced and has chocolate added in. ha! Now I just need to work on the latte art…I still have yet to master that…but I plan to. I have to admit, though, I was a tad disheartened that none of my friends came out to see me for our mini-grand opening. I know, I know, they had plans, yada yada yada…..I guess I just expected a few at the very least to come out for it. But, my parents drove up. =] So that was pretty exciting. In fact, I was so busy making drinks, I didn’t see them in the line till they were ordering their sandwiches, and I went to “bus” their table later just so I could talk with them for a few minutes and get their reaction on the place. They both loved it, so I was pretty happy about that.
Overall, work is going to be a good experience. The only pain in the butt will be all the driving I will be doing. For instance, come Monday morning, I will have to be on the road at 5:50am in order to get to work by 7am. Then I will work 10 hours straight (minus our break), get off by 5, and depending on how energetic I am at that point will determine if I hang out with people or just head straight home. But I’m not complaining. I have a job. After like 5 months of searching for one, probably 10-20 interviews at various places, and too many emails to want to count, I have a job that I actually like. I’d definitley go as far as to say this is a God thing. =D
Speaking of God things, and whatnot, I’m not doing too well on my communication level with Him. Besides the random, ‘thanks God!’ I acknowledge through the day or stuff of that nature. I dunno. Even when I did the bible study with the guys this week, via skype nonetheless, I really didn’t feel like I had anything to offer. I’m not of a theological mind, nor am I good at analyzing things when it comes to literature. I’m not really sure how I passed english classes when it came to our analyzation essays on various topics and books–I despise them! Writing–love; analyzing–hate. Its just not me. I guess I feel that these guys know more theology then I do, along with knowing more about the history (another thing I’m not too fond of) and the setting and time period itself, that they just had way more to offer. And no offense to the bro, but I hate praying out loud in group settings. If you think I clam up in group discussions about things (because I normally don’t even talk in our mini-groups in class), its even worse when I have to pray out loud in front of people. My explanation of this is horrible, I know, but its not my gifting. And usually I’m okay with that…until someone asks me to pray and then it becomes a pride issue on should I or shouldn’t I. Which completely and utterly destroys the whole point of praying, because its not a thing you do based on pride. God doesn’t base his love on us praying to Him. He doesn’t sit there and go, “well, since you didn’t pray out loud in bible study, you don’t rank as high on my list of favorites as you used to.” That’s complete stupidity. And I shouldn’t feel like I have to put up a front with my friends and pray aloud just because they asked. Even still, I felt like a complete moron for not praying when bro asked me too….and I’ll admit, it stung a bit to myself that I even passed it off. But if I’m not comfortable doing it, and if my heart isn’t in the right place, and if I only did it to put up a good front/mask for my friends, then I really don’t think it would have helped anybody out, and I would have been too worried about what other people were thinking about what I was saying, then concentrating and meaning what I would have been saying to God. Did that rambling make any sense whatsoever??
Here, I’ll even bring into play a verse from the book we are reading this week:
For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. It teaches us to say “No” to
Wouldn’t my pridefulness/mask/I’m doing this for me prayer have been something of ungodliness? Because I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t have been so much for God and to God as it would have been for myself. *sigh* I’m really glad there are such things as blogs. It’s so much easier to type this all out than to write it out, causing my thoughts to actually reach the page much more quickly, therefore I’m not losing at much of my thought process. lol
Ok….enough with my ramblings that probably make no sense to anyone but myself. I need sleep so I can wake up early, study my butt off all day long for my exam, and then hit the sack early and actually sleep until I wake up sometime in the wee hours of 4 am.
But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who believe and are saved. –Hebrews 10:39
-peace, love, and Jesus tugging on your heartstrings.